Past Winners

John N. Shaw Award

The John N. Shaw Award was created in 2002, in celebration of the 40th Anniversary of John Shaw's practice of Architecture. A regional architectural design competition intended to showcase good design that results from collaboration with educators, students and community representatives.

John Shaw Award Winners

Laurentian Elementary
Rock Ridge Public Schools
Eveleth, MN
New Construction
Submittal »

Laurentian Elementary

LEAD Innovation Studio
Park Hill School District
Kansas City, MO
New Construction
Hollis+Miller Architects
Submittal »

LEAD Innovation Studio

Walden Middle School
Park Hill School District
Kansas City, MO
New Construction
Hollis+Miller Architects
Submittal »

Walden MS

Laraway Elementary School
Laraway Community Consolidated School District 70C
Joliet, IL
New Construction
Laraway School District 70c & Legat Architects 
Submittal »

Laraway ES

Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium
Robert B. Daugherty Education Center
Omaha, NE
New Construction
DLR Group, CLR Design, Smith Bourne & Associates
Submittal »

Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium

Olathe West High School, Olathe, KS
New Construction
Hollis + Miller
Submittal »

Olathe West High School

Chiaravalle Montessori School, Evanston, IL
Cannon Design
Submittal »

Chiaravalle Montessori

Joplin High School, Joplin, MO
New Construction
Corner Greer Architects and DLR Group
Submittal »

Joplin High School

Creek Area Math and Science Center, Battle Creek, MI
Tower Pinkster
Submittal »

Creek Area Math and Science Center

Milan Center for Innovative Studies, Milan, MI
New Construction
Fanning Howey
Submittal »

Milan Center for Innovative Studies

Lee J Brockway Scholarship

The Midwest Great Lakes (MWGL) Lee J Brockway Scholarship is a regional competitive, merit based award program designed to provide financial support for high school students accepted into college. Each academic year, one (1) student will be selected as the recipient of a $1,000 scholarship award.

Lee J Brockway Scholarship Recipient

2019: Dominique Ewing
Kenwood Academy, Chicago, IL
College Plans: Spelman College/Hampton University
Major: Psychology/Sociology (pre-law track)

McKenna Hensley
Fort Hayes High School, Columbus, OH
College Plans: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Exercise and Sport Science

Amber Thrasher
North Kansas City High School, North Kansas City MO
College Plans: Missouri University of Science and Technology
Major: Geological Engineering

2016: Sofia V. Acosta
Senior at Blue Valley High School, Overland Park, KS
College Plans: Will attend either Kansas State University or University of Arizona
Major: Architecture, Focus on Global Architecture

2015: Rachel M. Yuricich
Senior at Hilliard DAvidson High School, Hilliard, Ohio
College Plans: Will attend University of Cincinnati
Major: Business, Focus on Marketing and Design

2013: Calvert J. Garrett
Senior at Mt. Vernon Township High School, Mt. Vernon, IL
College Plans: Will attend Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
Major: Civil Engineering

Fellowship Award

The Association for Learning Environments Fellow designation will be bestowed on individuals who have consistently contributed to the association in the highest manner possible.

2019 James French, REFP, FAIA
2018  Rodwell King, ALEP
2017 Troy Glover, ALEP
2016 Melanie E. Drerup, ALEP & Troy Glover, ALEP
2015 Mark Warneke, REFP

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is designed to honor an individual who has distinguished themselves by making significant lasting contributions to the educational facility planning industry throughout their career.

2019  Melanie E. Drerup, ALEP 
2018  Melanie Drerup, ALEP
2017 Daniel R. Mader, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
2016 Steven R. Turckes, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
2015 Edward M. McMilin, ALEP

Service Awards

Service Citations

2016 Rachel A Lynn, PMP, LEED, AP, BD+C / John L. Davids, AIA, REFP, LEED, AP, BD&C
2015 Troy Glover, ALEP / Everett W. Musser, AIA

Distinguished Service

2018 Michelle Chavey, ALEP & Scot Morris
2016 Dale C. Jerome, AIA, ALEP
2015 Melanie E Drerup, ALEP / David M. Hill, AIC, REFP
Become a Member


ALEP / Certificate Programs


Comprehensive industry education: ALEP and Advanced Certificate Program


Online Awards


Visit our showcase of past online entry submissions


LearningSCAPES 2024


October 16-19, 2024
Portland, OR