Past Winners

2020 Southwest Region Monarch Awards


Lilienthal Claire Lilienthal K-8 School
San Francisco Unified School District

2018 Southwest Region Monarch Awards


BernalilloHS Bernalillo High School
Bernalillo, NM


High Plains School High Plains School
Loveland, CO
RB+B Architects
Logan City High School Logan High School Design Guidelines
Logan City High School
Midvale Middle School Midvale Middle School
Midvale, UT
VCBO Architecture
Moffat PK-12 Moffat PK-12
Moffat, CO
RTA, Inc.
Sylvan Middle School Sylvan Middle School
Citrus Heights, CA

Southwest Planner of the Year

2020 – Julie Williams
2016 – Katheryn L. Zeeb, AIA
2015 – William Heinicke, LEED AP, ALEP
2014 – Julie Williams
2013 – Kathleen Moore
2012 – Amy Spatz with Aurora Public Schools
2011 – Marshal Garrett
2010 – Bob Matschulat
2008 – Kizito Wijenje, AICP with Albuquerque Public Schools
2007 – Tom Rushin
2006 – Dr. Kelvin Lee
2005 – Jack Swanzy, AIA, REFP
2001 – Bob Vesper

2016 Service Citations

Elizabeth Hawkins
Charla Bennett
Alejandro Rengifo

Southwest Region Monarch Award for School Facility Excellence

Mount Jordan 2016 – Mount Jordan STEAM Middle School
Sandy, UT
MHTN Architects
Elbert 2015 – Elbert PK-12
Elbert, CO
SLATERPAULL | Hord Coplan Macht
2014 – Vista Education Campus
School for Students with Special Needs
Farmington, UT
MHTN Archtects
Tsébii'nidzisgai Elementary School 2013 – Tsébii'nidzisgai Elementary School
San Juan School District
Monument Valley, UT
MHTN Architects
Montebello Applied Technology Center 2012 – Applied Technology Center
Montebello Unified School District
Montebello, CA
IBI Group
Endeavour Elementary School 2011 – Endeavour Elementary School
Davis School District
Kaysville, UT
Gila Ridge High School 2009 – Gila Ridge High School
Yuma Union High School District
Yuma, AZ
VCBO Architecture
Innovative Learning Center 2008 – Innovative Learning Center
Alvord Unified School District
Riverside, CA
HMC Architects
Panorama High School 2007 – Panorama High School
Los Angeles Unified School District
Panorama City, CA
WWCOT Architects and Interiors
Centennial High School 2006 – Centennial High School
Poudre School District
Ft. Collins, CO
Fossil Ridge High School 2005 – Fossil Ridge High School
Poudre School District
Fort Collins, Colorado
RB+B Architects, Inc.

2005 Monarch Award Entries

Andre Agassi Preparatory Academy 2004 – Andre Agassi Preparatory Academy
Las Vegas, NV
New Construction
Carpenter Sellers Architects
John S. Park Elementary School 2003 – John S. Park Elementary School Phased Replacement
Clark County, NV
Sandberg & Small Architecture

Southwest Region Conference Theme Award

The Colorado School for the Deaf and the Blind 2012 – The Colorado School for the Deaf and the Blind: Leo R. Gottlieb Building
RTA Architects
Become a Member


ALEP / Certificate Programs


Comprehensive industry education: ALEP, Advanced Academy and Vibrant Learning Environments


Online Awards


Visit our showcase of past online entry submissions


LearningSCAPES 2021


January 6-8, 2022
Washington Hilton, Washington DC