2021 Design Awards

Call for Entries

As a leader in the field of educational facilities planning in the Rocky Mountain Chapter Area, you are invited to participate in the annual Rocky Mountain Chapter Awards Program of School Planning, Architecture and Individual Achievement.

It is a great opportunity to share your best planning experience or design of educational facilities with the rest of the community. We are also requesting submittals on individuals who have committed their career to K-12 school planning and/or design. The award ceremony will take place in-person at the Chapter’s Annual Holiday Party. All projects will be prominently displayed as part of an exhibition during the party. All projects will be reviewed prior to the party by a selected Jury representing all sides of school planning, design and construction and evaluated within three categories: new construction, renovation and/or addition, and un-built projects.

Submittal Milestone Schedule
October Call for Entries
Extended to November 12 Application and Fees Due (online)
November 24 All Awards Submittals due online via Google Drive
December 15 Holiday Exhibition and Awards Party
5:30 PM Party starts, Awards Ceremony at 6:30 PM
Location TBD
*We understand that COVID-19 will play a part in the 2021 Holiday Party. The A4LE Awards Committee is hard at work planning a safe and fun experience for this year. Please be on the lookout for more information to come shortly!

The Jury
A distinguished panel of educational facility practitioners with expertise in education, planning and architecture will review all application materials.

Rocky Mountain Chapter Awards

Multiple projects in each category may be recognized as an award winner. Each award-winner will be specially noted at the award ceremony, distinguished in the exhibition, and included in The Rocky Mountain Chapter Newsletter press release.

Design Awards

  • Peak Design Award – new construction*
  • Summit Design Award – renovations and/or additions**
  • Rockies Design Award – projects not yet built or never to be built
*80% SF or more of new builds are considered new construction.
**79% SF or less of new builds are considered additions.

Planning Award

  • Mountain and Plains Planning Award – Long Range planning for programs, campus master planning (i.e. Educational Specs, or Bond Programs)

Planner of the Year

  • Dr. William R. Maclay Award – The Chapter’s outstanding individual recognition for Service, Performance or Achievement in Planning

Registration & Pricing for Awards

Description Price
Member Design Award Fee
This entry fee is for A4LE members for the first design submittal.
Member Planning Award Fee
This entry fee is for A4LE members for the first design submittal.
Non-Member Fee
This entry fee includes a A4LE Individual one year’s membership and the first design or planning submittal.
($175 out of the total is for membership)
Additional Design Entries Fee
Per additional design submittal.
Late Fee
If submittal received after December 7, 2021.

Award Application


  • Application Forms and payments must be received by November 12, 2021.
  • The submittal materials must be submitted as described in each award section.
  • All submittal files must be received by November 24, 2021 no later than 5:00 PM.

2021 A4LE Awards Chair Contact:
Michael Clough
Wold Architects & Engineers
1553 Platte St, Denver, CO 80202
[email protected]

Key Dates

Application Form & Payment Deadline:
Extended to November 12, 2021
Submittal Package:
November 24, 2021

2021 Award Winners

Congratulations to everyone who submitted projects for the Rocky Mountain Chapter 2021 Design Awards!

View all winners and entries »

Summit Design Award

Halcyon School
Halcyon School
Boulder, CO
Anderson Mason Dale Architects & Boulder Valley School District
Submittal »

Peak Design Award

Hayden School District
Hayden School District New PK-12 Campus
Hayden, CO
Cuningham & Hayden School District
Submittal »
Become a Member


ALEP / Certificate Programs


Comprehensive industry education: ALEP, Advanced Academy and Vibrant Learning Environments


Online Awards


Visit our showcase of past online entry submissions


LearningSCAPES 2021


January 6-8, 2022
Washington Hilton, Washington DC