South Carolina Chapter

The geographic area served consists of the state of South Carolina.

Region / Chapter Member Care Manager: Edi Francesconi

North & South Carolina Chapters Joint Virtual Fall Event

December 3-4, 2020

Please participate in our joint event! You will have the opportunity to acquire more in-depth knowledge for your profession through live and recorded sessions. We offer 15 AIA credits and attendance certificates. Click here for more information and to register for this event.

SchoolsNEXT 2020

The SchoolsNEXT team from Beck International Academy, Greenville, SC secured an Award of Commendation at the 2020 LearningSCAPES virtual conference.

Roper Mountain Academy: Presentation » | 3D Modeling »


2021 Annual Chapter Conference

Due to COVID-19, the latest CDC directives and increased states of emergencies, this event is postponed to 2021.

Marriott Spartanburg March 31 – April 2, 2021
Creating Engaging Learning Spaces in the Hub City – Centering Around Learning
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg, SC

Click here for more information to register for the conference.

The South Carolina Chapter of the Association for Learning Environments will convene for its annual conference in Spring of 2021 in exciting Spartanburg. As we meet to collaborate and share ideas for providing better learning environments for students and educators in SC, we do so as so many events, new and old are affecting us. An ongoing pandemic, social injustice awareness, extreme weather, driven by climate change, are literally blowing through our communities, but changing attitudes toward funding, choice, and safety are also challenging us to rethink and retool to adapt to the winds of the day. Packed with outdoor adventure, renowned restaurants, and events that cover even the broadest spectrum of interests, Spartanburg, SC is a great location for this engaging three day conference of industry leaders and decision makers.

The South Carolina Chapter Board

Thank You to Our Sponsors!

Gold Sponsors
Contract Construction DLR Gilbane MB Kahn
Smith Sinnett

Silver Sponsors
Carolina Parks & Play ECS Harper General Contractors LS3P Mead & Hunt

Welcome Reception Sponsor
Rodgers Builders

Happy Hour Reception Sponsor

Lunch Buffet Sponsor
Duke Energy

Keynote Sponsor

V/S America

Boxed Lunch Sponsor

Breakfast Sponsors
Edifice Optima Engineering

SchoolsNEXT Teams Sponsor
Dennis Corporation

Conference Signage
McMillan Pazdan Smith Associates


2021 East Conference

2021 East Conference   March 18-20, 2021
Inside the Mind of the Learner
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
400 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Click here for more information and to register for the conference.

SchoolsNEXT Design Competition Award Winner 2020 for South Carolina

The South Carolina Chapter has selected a team of students from Beck International Academy in Greenville as the winner of the 2020 SchoolsNEXT Competition for South Carolina.

SchoolsNEXT lets students plan and design a school with the help of classroom teachers and school design professionals. Students learn about the design process and the importance of healthy, safe, sustainable and resilient schools that promote student achievement. Following a STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math) curriculum, students plan a school from concept to completion, with sketches, models, and documentation on site planning, floor plan layouts and interior design. Participants’ teamwork and leadership skills are enhanced by a required presentation to a jury composed of school design professionals (architects, engineers, planners, school staff) from across South Carolina.

Beck International Academy will represent South Carolina at the Southeast regional competition. The team is composed of Ashton Colantonio, Isaiah Smith, Jabori Arnold, Kyre Sheppard, Lilly Abdella, Seniko Hogan and Tristynn Sizemore, and was led by Emily Strickland, a Math Interventionist at Beck Academy. Scott Powell and Ali McClure from Craig, Gaulden, Davis Architecture served as design coaches.

Click here for more information on the SchoolsNEXT Design Competition.

2019 Award Winners

Honor Award

St. James Intermediate School

Merit Awards
Jackson Creek Elementary School
Drayton Mills Elementary School
Socastee Elementary School

Citation Award
Goose Creek High School Renovations and Additions

View Award details
Become a Member


ALEP / Certificate Programs


Comprehensive industry education: ALEP, Advanced Academy and Vibrant Learning Environments


LEsolutions Online Awards


Visit our showcase of past online entry submissions


LearningSCAPES 2021


October 13-17, 2021
Denver, CO