Washington Chapter



  Polished Apple Design Award



March 1, 2017 (early entry)

March 15, 2017 (late entry)

Be sure your projects are represented!

The Washington Chapter of the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE) invites you to submit projects representing outstanding education facilities planning and design. All submittals will be displayed at the Conference in Tacoma, Washington. We have arranged for a jury of distinguished professionals to assess this year’s exhibition and select and award the most outstanding projects. Conference participants will have the opportunity to vote for the People’s Choice Award.

School district planners and directors from across the state, as well as industry partners, engineers, and architects will be among those viewing the entries at the annual conference May 8-10, 2017. Last year's Polished Apple winner, A.G. Bell Elementary School, will also be on display.

$400 usd – entries received before 3.01.2017 (per entry)
$450 usd – entries received between 3.02.2017 and 3.15.2017 (per entry)
$450 usd – entries received before 3.01.17 (per entry)
$500 usd – entries received between 3.02.2017 and 3.15.17 (per entry)


Download the detailed entry information

Click here to register for the Design Award

Download Photo Release form



2017 Merle Kirkley Merit Scholarship

The $3,000.00 Merle Kirkley Merit Scholarship Award is a competitive merit-based scholarship program designed to provide financial support for Washington State high school students planning to obtain a post-secondary education. Applicants must demonstrate that their intent is to major, or obtain a certificate in, a field relating to educational facility planning and design. Fields related to educational facility design include (but are not limited to):  school planning, architecture, engineering, product services and construction management.

Click here to download more information on the scholarship and the forms for completion.

Submission Deadline: April 21, 2017


Washington Chapter Polished Apple Award

The Polished Apple Award provides recognition to the most outstanding project presented each year.


Congratulations to the 2017 Award Winners!

Polished Apple Award

Hazel Wolf K-8 E-STEM School
Seattle Public Schools
NAC Architecture

Jonah Jensen, Steve Moore, Chris Duvall, Guy Overman, Phillip Riedel, Karen Wood

People's Choice – Polished Apple

McCarver Elementary School
Tacoma Public Schools
DLR Group

Jonah Jensen, Noah Greenberg, Melissa English, Chris Caffee, Lisa Johnson, Craig Stauffer, Kas Kinkead, Steve Murakami, Karen Wood

Merit Award – Polished Apple

Bates Advanced Technology Center
Bates Technical College
McGranahan Architects

Jonah Jensen, Shannon McLaughlin, Melissa English, Kas Kinkead, Dhiren Babaria, Seong Shin, Brett Santhuff, Karen Wood

Northwood Elementary School
Mercer Island School District
Mahlum Architects

Craig Stauffer, JoAnn Wilcox, Kas Kinkead, David Mount, Jonah Jensen

Year Project Location Architect
2017 Hazel Wolf K-8 E-STEM School Seattle Public Schools NAC Architecture
2016 A.G. Bell Elementary School
2016 Polished Apple Award Winners
Lake Washington School District DLR Group
2015 Wilkes Elementary School Bainbridge Island School District Mahlum Architects
2013 Secondary Academy for Success
2013 Polished Apple Award Winners
Northshore School District Studio Meng Strazzara
2012 Chief Sealth International High School/Denny International Middle School
2012 Polished Apple Award Winners
Seattle Public Schools, WA Bassetti Architects
2011 Marysville Getchell High School Marysville School District, Marysville, WA DLR Group
2010 Robert Frost Elementary Lake Washington School District, Kirkland, WA studio Meng Strazzara
2009 Gray Middle School Tacoma Public Schools, Tacoma, WA Mahlum Architects
2008 North Cascades Environmental Learning Center Sedro-Woolley, WA HKP Architects
2007 Paschal Sherman Indian School
Project entries
Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation ALSC Architects
2006 Ben Franklin Elementary School Lake Washington School District, Kirkland, WA Mahlum Architects
2005 Redmond High School Lake Washington School District, Redmond, WA McGranahan Architects
2004 The Truman Center Federal Way School District, WA Mahlum Architects


Al Beck Award

This award, in memory of Al Beck is given to honor a Washington State member who exemplifies the principles of service that were so diligently represented by Al Beck's contributions to the organization.


2017 Greg Hepp
2016 Shannon McLaughlin, CPSM, LEED AP 
2015 Guy J. Overman, AIA 
2013  Kelley Tanner
2012 Stephen M Murakami 

Past Al Beck Award winners have been: Jim Jennings, Alberta Mehring, Chas Chisom, Steve Young, Gretchen DeDecker, Jack Hutteball, Merle Kirkley, Gary Nelson, Ralph Saxton, Bill Chaput, Jay Peterson, Cheri Hendricks, Debra Fulton, Peter Wall and Edward Peters.


Merle Kirkley Scholarship

2016 Davidson Norris, Walla Walla