Alaska Chapter



Len Mackler Award


Alaska Chapter A4LE Design Awards Program

Each year, the Alaska Chapter of A4LE invites Alaska School Districts and design firms to showcase their educational projects at the annual A4LE Alaska conference in Anchorage, in December. A project of distinction is awarded the Len Mackler Award, which was established in remembrance of our past Chapter president who contributed so much to our organization. The presentation of this award is an important feature of the annual A4LE Alaska Chapter Conference. All entries will be judged for excellence in design and functional planning directed toward meeting the need of the educational program. Awards of Distinction will be based on the criteria listed below and will be presented to entities whose projects are selected by the awards jury. The Len Mackler Award will be presented to the entity whose project is selected by the jury as representative of the highest level of excellence of all entries. The recipient of this reward will be forwarded to the regional awards program for the subsequent year.


Submittal Information

Entries may be submitted by registered architects (eligibility not limited to members of AIA), individual firms, school districts, organizations, or educational planners whose primary focus is on the planning, designing, constructing and/or equipping the educational environment. Entries may be submitted for completed projects only, and may include new construction, renovation and renovation/addition projects. Each entry should give primary consideration to the design solution presented to meet the requirements of the educational program. Entries that have appeared or will appear in other exhibits are welcome. Membership in A4LE is not required for exhibitors.



A4LE's architectural jury will give prime consideration to the architectural solution of the stated educational program requirements. Plans should be uniquely adapted to the educational program and should clearly reflect the challenge presented and how the planner and architect met this challenge. Specifically, the Jury will give consideration to the following:


  • Adequacy of response to educational program
  • Aesthetics
  • Relationships of instructional areas
  • Accessibility of facilities
  • Flexibility/Convertibility
  • Community use
  • Barrier-free design
  • Adaptation to site
  • Site development
  • Presentation of materials
  • Retrofitting
  • Environmental controls and enhancements: light, air, sound, safety



Year Project Location Owner Architect
2015 George H. Gilson Middle School Valdez, AK Valdez City Schools Bettisworth North Architects and Planners, Inc.
2014 Valley Pathways School Palmer, AK Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District McCool, Carlson & Green Architects
2013 UAF Life Sciences Facility, Margaret Murie Building Fairbanks, AK University of Alaska BDS Architects / Smith Group
2012 Mt. Eccles Elementary School Renovation and Addition Cordova, AK Cordova School District MRV Architects
2011 AVTEC Alaska Culinary Academy - Addition & Remodel Seward, AK State of Alaska DOT/PF (AVTEC-Alaska Institute of Technology Nvision Architecture, Inc.
2010  Noatak K-12 School Noatak, AK Northwest Arctic Borough School District Burkhart Croft Architects
2009 Clark Middle School Anchorage, AK Anchorage School District McCool, Carlson & Green Architects