Midwest Great Lakes Region


John N. Shaw Award

Click here to view the 2017 John Shaw Award submittal information and to register online.

The John N. Shaw Award was created in 2002, in celebration of the 40th Anniversary of John Shaw's practice of Architecture. A regional architectural design competition intended to showcase good design that results from collaboration with educators, students and community representatives.

John Shaw Award Winners

Chiaravalle Montessori School, Evanston, IL
Cannon Design

Chiaravalle Montessori


Joplin High School, Joplin, MO
New Construction
Corner Greer Architects and DLR Group


Battle Creek Area Math and Science Center, Battle Creek, MI
Tower Pinkster



Milan Center for Innovative Studies Milan, MI
New Construction
Fanning Howey

Lee J Brockway Scholarship

The Midwest Great Lakes (MWGL) Lee J Brockway Scholarship is a regional competitive, merit based award program designed to provide financial support for high school students accepted into college. Each academic year, one (1) student will be selected as the recipient of a $1,000.00 scholarship award. The student selected should be intending to enroll in a field related to educational facility planning and design. These would include, but not be limited to, architecture, engineering, interior design, facility planning, and construction management.

Click here to download the 2018 application.
Deadline: March 30, 2018 by 5:00 pm

Lee J Brockway Scholarship Recipient

2017: Ms. Amber Thrasher
North Kansas City High School, North Kansas City MO
College Plans: Missouri University of Science and Technology
Major: Geological Engineering

2016: Ms. Sofia V. Acosta
Senior at Blue Valley High School, Overland Park, KS
College Plans: Will attend either Kansas State University or University of Arizona
Major: Architecture, Focus on Global Architecture

2015: Ms. Rachel M. Yuricich
Senior at Hilliard DAvidson High School, Hilliard, Ohio
College Plans: Will attend University of  Cincinnati
Major: Business, Focus on Marketing and Design

2013: Mr. Calvert J. Garrett
Senior at Mt. Vernon Township High School, Mt. Vernon, IL
College Plans: Will attend Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
Major: Civil Engineering

Fellowship Award

The Association for Learning Environments Fellow designation will be bestowed on individuals who have consistently contributed to the association in the highest manner possible.

2017 Troy Glover, ALEP
2016 Melanie E. Drerup, ALEP & Troy Glover, ALEP
2015 Mark Warneke, REFP

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is designed to honor an individual who has distinguished themselves by making significant lasting contributions to the educational facility planning industry throughout their career.

2017 Daniel R. Mader, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
2016 Steven R. Turckes AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
2015 Edward M. McMilin, ALEP

Service Awards

Service Citations

2016 Rachel A Lynn, PMP, LEED, AP, BD+C  / John L. Davids , AIA, REFP, LEED, AP, BD&C 

Troy Glover, ALEP / Everett W. Musser, AIA

Distinguished Service

2016 Dale C. Jerome , AIA, ALEP 

Melanie E Drerup, ALEP / David M. Hill, AIC, REFP