Midwest Great Lakes Region

Region Mission

The commitment of the professional membership has been the key to the success of the Association for Learning Environments. We must now build on this tradition by increasing our membership to include sectors now under-represented within the organization. Increasing membership from the communities we serve to include minorities and urban school personnel.

Region / Chapter Member Care Manager: Donna Robinson

Membership Dues Categories (US & Canada)

Membership Dues Categories (Outside US & Canada)


First Time Members...
Returning Members...
Upcoming Programs


Midwest Great Lakes Regional Conference

Blurring the Lines Between Architecture and Education
April 20-22, 2017
Blurring the Lines Between Architecture and Education
The Drake Hotel
Chicago, Illinois


2017 Lee J Brockway Scholarship Program

The Midwest Great Lakes (MWGL) Lee J Brockway Scholarship is a regional competitive, merit based award program designed to provide financial support for high school students accepted into college. Each academic year, one (1) student will be selected as the recipient of a $1,000.00 scholarship award. The student selected should be intending to enroll in a field related to educational facility planning and design. These would include, but not be limited to, architecture, engineering, interior design, facility planning, and construction management.

Eligibility Requirements:
The MWGL Region seeks students who meet the following eligibility requirements:

  1. Reside in one of the following locations: States of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and the province of Ontario, Canada.
  2. Currently enrolled in the twelfth grade.


Nov. 28, 2016 Submissions Open
March 3, 2017 Application Submittals are Due
April 6, 2017 Scholarship Winner Notified
2017 Winner is announced at the MWGL Region Conference




The Association Welcomes the Quad Cities Chapter

The MWGL Region rings 2017 with the announcement of its newest chapter – Quad Cities. The Chapter will include the following counties in Iowa:  Dubuque, Jackson, Jones, Linn, Johnson, Cedar, Clinton, Scott, Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines and the following counties in Illinois: Jo Davies, Carroll, Whiteside, Rock Island, Henry, Mercer, and Henderson. Read more »


ALEPs in your Region

Chuck Appleby, ALEP
Dennis Bane, AIA, ALEP
Brian J. Bohlender, ALEP, AIA, LEED, AP
Denise M Breunig, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP BD+C
Franklin J. Brown, AIA, LEED, AP
Michelle Chavey, AIA, ALEP
John Darveau, ALEP, AIA
Melanie E. Drerup, ALEP
Aimee Eckmann, ALEP
Ronald H. Fanning, AIA, P.Eng., NCEE
Troy Glover, ALEP
Kim Dale Hassell, AIA, ALEP
Nathan Haug, ALEP
David J. Henebry, AIA, ALEP
Brandon Hillman, ALEP
Andrew H. Iverson, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Dr. Dale C. Jerome, AIA, ALEP
Nicholas D. Kent, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP, ALEP
Bradley R. Kiehl, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Rodwell G. King, RIBA, ALEP
Edward J. Kodet Jr., FAIA, ALEP
Daniel R. Mader, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Michael Malone, AIA, ALEP
Allison McKenzie, ALEP
Edward M. McMilin, ALEP
Gregory H. Monberg, AIA, MBA, LEED AP, BD+C, ALEP
Theodore G. Pappas, AIA, NCARB, ALEP, LEED AP, BD+C
Jeff Parker, AIA, ALEP
Brendon Pollard, ALEP
Joshua L Predovich, ALEP
Rebecca B. Richter, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Jolene L Santema, ALEP
Kevin Schluckebier, ALEP, AIA
Robert S. Schwarz, AICP, ALEP
James Seaman, AIA, LEED AP, ALEP
Julie M. Skolnicki, AIA, LEED AP, ALEP
Craig A Stranathan, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP, BD+C, CSI
Todd Thackery, ALEP
Richard S. Thomas, ALEP
Steven R. Turckes, AIA, ALEP, LEED AP
Mark Warneke, ALEP
Charles H. Warner, AIA, ALEP
James G. Woods, AIA, REFP, ALEP